Status and History of Jordanhill School
Founded in 1920, the school was run by Jordanhill College of Education as its demonstration school until 1988, and was known as Jordanhill College School until that date.
Jordanhill is a community, comprehensive school. No fees are paid, and there is no academic selection of pupils. The school has a unique status as a mainstream Grant Aided school directly funded by a grant from the Scottish Government.
It is an all-through Primary and Secondary school serving the local area of Jordanhill, and parts of Broomhill and Scotstoun. The school roll is 462 Primary and 590 Secondary pupils.
‘Striving Higher‘ a history of the school was published in November 2019 to mark the centenary of the school in 2020.
The School Coat of Arms
In 1939 the School adopted the House System, selecting for the four Houses the names of St John, Crawfurd, Smith and Montgomerie – all of them important in the local history of Jordanhill.
The challenge of creating an appropriate coat of arms was taken on by Mr Whitelaw, former Principal Teacher of Art, whose design embodies the Maltese Cross of St John and a charge from each of the coats of arms of the families Crawfurd, Smith and Montgomerie. Mr Whitelaw’s final design received the approval of the Lord Lyon King at Arms.
Jordanhill through the Decades
Images from the past 100 years
Captains on the Bridge (Rectors 1920-2020)
History of the School
“John MacLeod’s remarkable, at times magical, work shows why there is so much pride felt by generations of staff and pupils.”
John Robertson (FP 1958-1968)
Only £25 – order via the school shop.